Birds fly. Sun shines. And brother? Brutes shoot people.

problem with "

For discussion about UnrealSP.org itself.

Moderators: ividyon, Semfry, zYnthetic

User avatar Creavion
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 745
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:43

Subject: problem with "

Post Posted: 23 Nov 2009, 13:58

I opened recently this thread:

Playerclass without any "slightly moving down and up"

forum changed title to this:

Playerclass without any "slightly moving down and up&qu
>:E
--------------------------------------------------
Waffnuffly wrote:Holy shit a HOUSE-SIZED BOX

--------------------------------------------------
>:E

User avatar Darkon
White Tusk White Tusk
Posts: 2211
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 15:11
Location: P46153

Subject:

Post Posted: 23 Nov 2009, 14:04

Strange. I just tried it as well and had no issues. Are you sure you used the double quote? Only thing I could think of is your computer settings regarding your keyboard... :?

User avatar Creavion
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 745
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:43

Subject:

Post Posted: 23 Nov 2009, 14:11

I also wondered about this, clicked back to the thread and saw.. ok there it is right. I do not know why this happened. I only happened after the thread was started.
>:E

--------------------------------------------------

Waffnuffly wrote:Holy shit a HOUSE-SIZED BOX


--------------------------------------------------

>:E

User avatar Darkon
White Tusk White Tusk
Posts: 2211
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 15:11
Location: P46153

Subject:

Post Posted: 23 Nov 2009, 17:32

might have happened because the page didn't load the content-type right, which is in the meta tag. That tells it to treat certain characters a certain way. So it might have been a hiccup...

User avatar Hellscrag
Founder Founder
Posts: 3974
Joined: 11 Nov 2007, 19:14
Location: In a random access memory of dreams

Subject:

Post Posted: 23 Nov 2009, 19:21

Darkon wrote:might have happened because the page didn't load the content-type right, which is in the meta tag. That tells it to treat certain characters a certain way. So it might have been a hiccup...


There's a limit to the length of a thread title. The forum converts certain characters to HTML codes, for example " becomes &quote; (or something like that)... It looks like the code was interrupted by the limit on title length.
Image
Life is what you make of it.

User avatar salsaSkaarj
Gilded Claw Gilded Claw
Posts: 1798
Joined: 21 Apr 2009, 21:54
Location: on the prowl

Subject:

Post Posted: 24 Nov 2009, 18:54

Hellscrag wrote:
Darkon wrote:might have happened because the page didn't load the content-type right, which is in the meta tag. That tells it to treat certain characters a certain way. So it might have been a hiccup...


There's a limit to the length of a thread title. The forum converts certain characters to HTML codes, for example " becomes &quote; (or something like that)... It looks like the code was interrupted by the limit on title length.


JUst going off memory here. Keep the length of the input field in the template (no need for too long titles), but change the length of the database field.

It's been a long time since I've worked with phpbb2 but IIRC there's no check on the length in the script itself (if there is then just increase the max allowed length).

edit - just remembered - There are 2 title fields: check the length of the topic_title field, but also the post_title field (BTW I made this edit yesterday, but in the wrong post)
Last edited by salsaSkaarj on 25 Nov 2009, 16:07, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar Hellscrag
Founder Founder
Posts: 3974
Joined: 11 Nov 2007, 19:14
Location: In a random access memory of dreams

Subject:

Post Posted: 24 Nov 2009, 18:55

That would work... it's not a priority, though, as I'd rather leave the database structure alone if possible. :)

Cheers.
Image

Life is what you make of it.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests