Did you know? All of these messages will likely be replaced before release.

Static Meshes for UT99

For questions and discussion about UnrealEd, UnrealScript, and other aspects of Unreal Engine design.

Moderators: Semfry, zYnthetic, ividyon

radios
Skaarj Assassin Skaarj Assassin
Posts: 130
Joined: 25 May 2008, 18:58
Location: Long Island

Subject: Static Meshes for UT99

Post Posted: 12 Nov 2015, 19:32

As I understand it, U1 has static meshes because of the U1 227 update, but why hasn't there been an update for UT99 that gives those features? wasn't UT99 made after U1?

User avatar editor Dave
Skaarj Berserker Skaarj Berserker
Posts: 282
Joined: 05 Apr 2008, 15:38
Contact:

Subject: Re: Static Meshes for UT99

Post Posted: 12 Nov 2015, 20:13

This is because it requires the source code to do such a drastic addition to the engine. The developers of 227, mainly Smirftsch, are the only ones who own the source code and are permitted to change it. However, Smirftsch isn't a fan of the multiplayer side of Unreal at all, and because of the great deal of work involved, he didn't develop a kind of 437 patch for UT. Shadow on the other hand tries his best without the source code. Though, I'm not familiar with the differences of his Static Meshes compared to those of 227.
The Unforchers will come again soon...

gopostal
Skaarj Assassin Skaarj Assassin
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2008, 06:35

Subject: Re: Static Meshes for UT99

Post Posted: 12 Nov 2015, 22:49

I play in both sandboxes and I can say without hesitation that there is nothing you can't do in Unreal227 that is possible in UT, with the added benefit of massive improvements all around. Map design is easier as well as import, creation, handling of source material, etc. Smirf has gone (and still continues to go) all out in improving everything.

Here's just a taste: The other day I went to update my coop server's hub map. In it I have a jukebox that I rotate music for. I wanted to add six new songs. In UT that means using at least two programs to convert the songs, and that's provided they are in .wav already. In 227 I just import the mp3 in as it is and I'm done....aaaannnddd the file size is smaller. Little victories.

Poke around Old Unreal or here and you'll see there's still a ton of new things going on. There's an Amnesia server, a tough new gametype called RLCoop, continuing development of the various server controllers that are out there, ongoing recovery of the history of Unreal, and I'm even making Dragons too
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEreCya8Ldw

I guess the bottom line is that there most likely won't be anyone that attacks the issues in UT like Smirf has done for Unreal. It's been a combination of his tenacity and intelligence coupled with a long term love of the game that you don't often find. Unreal227 will continue to improve and UT will simply be stuck where it's been for multiple years.

User avatar editor Dave
Skaarj Berserker Skaarj Berserker
Posts: 282
Joined: 05 Apr 2008, 15:38
Contact:

Subject: Re: Static Meshes for UT99

Post Posted: 14 Nov 2015, 09:57

I just wanna give a quick shout-out. As I said on Youtube already, but I do have to repeat myself: Those dragons really look awesome! I'm looking forward to hearing about further progress.
The Unforchers will come again soon...

gopostal
Skaarj Assassin Skaarj Assassin
Posts: 142
Joined: 01 Aug 2008, 06:35

Subject: Re: Static Meshes for UT99

Post Posted: 14 Nov 2015, 15:57

I'm working with Gildor (the maker of UModel) to try to fix the export/import issue so it's much easier to use models from other 'places'. Because of Gizzy and Bob I was able to fix the textural assignments and the Dragons now have several species:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-eZKkMMwYr4
I know the lighting needs to be better, but I don't want to give too much away. I'll make up a proper preview release thread soon, I promise. Looks like there will be 6-8 different species with unique attacks, defenses, etc. I'll closely follow Iniquitous' interpretation.

Do know though that the King Dragon will breathe fire and it will burn everything. I did good code for this in FoodFight and it'll work perfectly here. Think 'Unreal Skyrim'.

User avatar Shadow
Skaarj Warrior Skaarj Warrior
Posts: 98
Joined: 11 Nov 2007, 20:52
Location: Halle
Contact:

Subject: Re: Static Meshes for UT99

Post Posted: 14 Nov 2015, 19:42

editor Dave wrote:This is because it requires the source code to do such a drastic addition to the engine. The developers of 227, mainly Smirftsch, are the only ones who own the source code and are permitted to change it. However, Smirftsch isn't a fan of the multiplayer side of Unreal at all, and because of the great deal of work involved, he didn't develop a kind of 437 patch for UT. Shadow on the other hand tries his best without the source code. Though, I'm not familiar with the differences of his Static Meshes compared to those of 227.

the 227 static meshes are superior to mine, because.. yeah they got the source code, and my static meshes are somewhat of a workaround partially based on old code by dots and moonangel - but they do their job increasing possible detail in ut99 map

radios
Skaarj Assassin Skaarj Assassin
Posts: 130
Joined: 25 May 2008, 18:58
Location: Long Island

Subject: Re: Static Meshes for UT99

Post Posted: 16 Nov 2015, 00:53

Very interesting, Thanks.. it would be nice if there was a standalone UT99 to U1 map converter, so I could dump UT99 and play those maps on U1.. I guess either no one thought about it, or it would be too complicated to do in the time they want to spend on it.. I'd be just guessing on that one.. I only do SP gaming..

bob
Skaarj Lord Skaarj Lord
Posts: 204
Joined: 23 Apr 2011, 02:24
Location: USA
Contact:

Subject: Re: Static Meshes for UT99

Post Posted: 16 Nov 2015, 03:28

radios wrote:Very interesting, Thanks.. it would be nice if there was a standalone UT99 to U1 map converter, so I could dump UT99 and play those maps on U1.. I guess either no one thought about it, or it would be too complicated to do in the time they want to spend on it.. I'd be just guessing on that one.. I only do SP gaming..


you can already do this for maps.
we have a mod that will let you load standardish ut maps right up in unreal , with none to minimal changes.

User avatar Dr.Flay
Skaarj Lord Skaarj Lord
Posts: 216
Joined: 23 Aug 2012, 06:24
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Subject: Re: Static Meshes for UT99

Post Posted: 17 Nov 2015, 02:09

radios wrote:Very interesting, Thanks.. it would be nice if there was a standalone UT99 to U1 map converter, so I could dump UT99 and play those maps on U1.. I guess either no one thought about it, or it would be too complicated to do in the time they want to spend on it.. I'd be just guessing on that one.. I only do SP gaming..


There are patched Botpacks that allow you to add UT to Unreal.
I mostly play UT in Unreal since I combined them both.
Here is a guide to making both games live together without duplicating everything https://www.ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=5540


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests